About Us

UT Austin’s student chapter of SIAM was founded in 2008 to foster interactions between members of the applied mathematics community at UT Austin, across departments, institutes, and professional marks. We aim to provide a forum for discussing applied and computational mathematics and to help members prepare for future STEM careers in academia and industry. We also promote publications, conferences, prizes, and other opportunities offered by SIAM.

Chapter Officers

Mohammad Afzal Shadab


PhD Student at Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences

I use numerical simulations to study diverse fluid flow problems in planetary sciences such as impact crater lake dynamics on Mars, melting of ice on glaciers and formation of planetary cores.

Shreyas Gaikwad


Ph.D. Student at the Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences.

I apply Automatic Differentiation tools and techniques for PDE-constrained Inverse Problems in order to calibrate large ice sheet models. I also study the applications of Deep Learning in order to reduce the cost of the computational complexity of the dynamics of sea ice models.

Xin Tang


PhD Student at Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences

I use optimization and machine learning techniques for process control and energy system. The current focus of my research is production scheduling optimization for fluctuating electricity prices and energy supplies.

Evan Scope Crafts


PhD Student at Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences

I work on the optimal experimental design of magnetic resonance imaging using techniques from optimal control and reinforcement learning.

Meghana V. Palukuri


PhD Student at Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences

I work broadly on machine learning methods for community detection in networks using known information. I’m interested in supervised and reinforcement learning methods and the application area of finding protein complexes in human protein interaction networks - which will help us better understand cellular function and mechanisms of disease.

Tyler Masthay


I am researching the application of optimal transport to full-waveform inversion to the seismic source inversion problem. Its applications lie in earthquake location detection and induced seismicity.

Pablo Rocha Gomez


BS in Mathematics at UT Austin

I am an undergraduate Mathematics Senior with an interest in applied mathematics, data science and urban analytics.

Faculty advisors

Prof. Todd Arbogast


I work on development of a Eulerian-Lagrangian and WENO schemes for advective flow; the study of mixed methods and cell-centered finite differences for nonlinear and geometrically irregular elliptic problems; the modeling and simulation of multi-phase flow through porous media, including fractured and vuggy media, with applications to petroleum production and groundwater resources; numerical homogenization, subgrid upscaling, and domain decomposition of heterogeneous media; and simulation of the dynamics of the Earth's mantle.

Prof. Clint Dawson


I use numerical methods for partial differential equations, specifically flow and transport problems in computational fluid dynamics; scientific computing and parallel computing; finite element analysis, discontinuous Galerkin methods; shallow water systems, hurricane storm surge modeling, rainfall-induced flooding; ground water systems, flow in porous media, geochemistry; data assimilation, parameter estimation, uncertainty and error estimation.


Mohammad Afzal Shadab
(President, Senior Advisor)
Meghana Palukuri
(Senior Advisor, Vice President)
Tyler Masthay
(Industry Liaison)
Pablo Rocha Gomez
(Undergraduate Representative)
Gopal Yalla
(President, Senior Advisor, Vice President)
Brendan Keith
(President, Vice President)
Tom O'Leary-Roseberry
Timothy Smith
(Industry Liaison)
Siddhant Wahal
(Industry Liaison)
Maximilian Bremer
(Event Coordinator)
Andrew Ma
(Math Department Representative, Industry Liaison)
Teresa Portone
Aditya Jain
(Vice President)
Jacob Sansom
(Undergraduate Representative)
Pearl H. Flath
(Founding President)