Distinguished Seminar Series

Beauty in Research and Intersections with Teaching by Dr. Howard Stone

By November 11, 2021 No Comments

December 1st, 2021 (Wednesday) | 2 PM – 3 PM (CST)

The Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics chapter at UT Austin invites you to their third Distinguished Speaker Seminar, “Beauty in Research and Intersections with Teaching”, by Prof. Howard Stone, who is a pioneer in the field of Fluid Mechanics. The talk summary and registration details are included below.

Dr. Stone will share some thoughts about research and teaching, using examples and encouraging dialogue. He will use research themes in fluid dynamics and applied mathematics, including remarks about dimensional analysis, to motivate questions and discussion.

To RSVP and receive the zoom link, please fill out the google form, or watch the live stream on Youtube.


Speaker Bio

Professor Howard A. Stone is the Donald R. Dixon ’69 and Elizabeth W. Dixon Professor and the Department Chair of the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Princeton University. He received his PhD in Chemical Engineering from Caltech in 1988 and served as a Professor at Harvard until 2009. Professor Stone’s research interests are in fluid dynamics, especially as they arise in research and applications at the interface of engineering, chemistry, physics, and biology.  In particular, he developed original research directions, using experiments, theory, and simulations, in microfluidics, multiphase flows, electrokinetics, flows involving bacteria and biofilms, etc. He received the NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS), and is past Chair of the Division of Fluid Dynamics of the APS. For ten years he served as an Associate Editor for the Journal of Fluid Mechanics, and is currently on the editorial or advisory boards of Physical Review Fluids, Langmuir, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, and Soft Matter, and is co-editor of the Soft Matter Book Series.  Professor Stone is the first recipient of the G.K. Batchelor Prize in Fluid Dynamics, which was awarded in August 2008, and the 2016 recipient of the Fluid Dynamics Prize of the APS. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2009, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2011, and the National Academy of Sciences in 2014.


Leave a Reply